Peter B. Emerson

I wrote a family-friendly, contemporary live concert event titled He Rules the World that blends song, narration, and imagery to tell the Nativity story in its entirety. I was inspired to write it after taking my daughter to a “Christmas” concert event a few years ago. It was a large national tour and it was spectacular – with lights, lasers, sounds, and big rockin’ guitar solos. The concert was very entertaining but the one thing that was missing from this “Christmas” presentation was any mention of the Christ Child. In fact, as I recall, the only reference to Christmas was the use of the phrase “the spirit of Christmas.”

Shortly thereafter, I set out to create an original concert event that not only refers to Christ, but indeed tells His nativity story from the prophesies of Isaiah through the family’s return to Nazareth after the death of Herod. Thus was born He Rules the World, an original work with 17 songs that blends familiar Christmas melodies with new material to tell the Nativity story from the perspective of the participants.

I hope to be able to post audio recordings from the world premiere of He Rules the World in early 2023.

About HRTW

  1. Just What is Christmas?
  2. Prologue – He’ll Rule the World
  3. Once in Royal David’s City
  4. Angels, from the Realms of Glory
  5. Infant Holy
  6. O Come, O Come Emmanuel
  7. Away in a Manger
  8. Angels We Have Heard on High
  9. The First Noel
  10. Bring a Torch Jeanette Isabella
  11. We Three Kings
  12. Coventry Carol
  13. Let All Mortal Flesh Keep Silence
  14. Patapan
  15. Sing We Now of Christmas
  16. Hallelujah Chorus
  17. Curtain Call/Encore

HRTW Tracks

Scroll to Top